The BMW i4 has been in production since 2021. Current BMW listings describe a 210–400 kW electric model range, 286–544 hp, 406–590 km of WLTP range, and 15.8–22.5 kWh/100 km of WLTP energy consumption, while U.S. eDrive40 data provide a more specific view of performance and charging.
Key BMW i4 Statistics
The most useful BMW i4 figures span the model range, the U.S. rear-wheel-drive eDrive40, the M50 performance version, and company-wide electric-vehicle context:
- BMW i4 production began in 2021 according to the current global model listing.
- BMW lists 210–400 kW across the i4 electric model range in its current global model listing.
- BMW lists 286–544 hp across i4 variants in the current global model listing.
- The BMW i4 is listed at 4,783 mm long, 1,852 mm wide and 1,448 mm high in the current global model listing.
- BMW lists 15.8–22.5 kWh/100 km of combined WLTP energy consumption across i4 variants.
- BMW lists 406–590 km of combined WLTP electric range across i4 variants.
- The U.S. i4 eDrive40 has 335 hp and 317 lb-ft of torque in its current manufacturer specification.
- The U.S. i4 eDrive40 reaches 60 mph from rest in 5.5 seconds in BMW AG’s preliminary test result.
- The U.S. i4 eDrive40 has a listed top speed of 118 mph in the current U.S. specification.
- The i4 M50 is listed at 400 kW, or 544 hp in BMW’s current model listing.
- BMW says the i4 M50 uses two fifth-generation BMW M eDrive motors in the current model description.
- BMW states that the i4 M50 can reach up to 520 km of fully electric range under its current WLTP listing.
- The U.S. i4 eDrive40 can add 88–99 miles in 10 minutes of high-powered charging according to BMW’s stated estimate.
- The U.S. i4 eDrive40 has a 205 kW maximum DC charging rating in the current U.S. specification.
- The U.S. i4 eDrive40 is listed at 30 minutes for a 10%–80% DC charge under BMW’s stated estimate.
- BMW brand BEV deliveries reached 368,475 vehicles in 2024 globally, according to the BMW Group Report 2024.
- BEVs represented 16.7% of BMW brand deliveries in 2024 globally, according to the BMW Group Report 2024.
- BEVs were 7% of all U.S. new vehicles in model year 2024 in the EPA’s production-volume measure.
Contents
- BMW i4 production and core specification data
- BMW i4 power, acceleration and top-speed statistics
- BMW i4 range and energy-consumption data
- BMW i4 charging-speed and charging-time statistics
- BMW i4 dimensions, weight and packaging statistics
- BMW i4 M50 statistics and electrification context
BMW i4 Production and Core Specification Data
BMW’s current global model listing identifies the i4 production period as since 2021. This is a production-period label, not a cumulative production total, so it does not state how many i4 vehicles BMW has built.
| Measure | BMW i4 figure | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| Production period | Since 2021 | BMW global model listing |
| Electric power range | 210–400 kW | Listed i4 variants |
| Horsepower range | 286–544 hp | Listed i4 variants |
| Length | 4,783 mm | BMW i4 |
| Width | 1,852 mm | BMW i4 |
| Height | 1,448 mm | BMW i4 |
Source: BMW i-series, the official global model listing. The power and horsepower bands cover multiple configurations rather than one vehicle.
The model-range figures are therefore best read as boundaries. A buyer comparing a specific trim should use the trim-level specification, because the broad range does not describe one common output, body setup or equipment package.
BMW i4 Power, Acceleration and Top-Speed Statistics
The current U.S. i4 eDrive40 specification describes a rear-wheel-drive electric car with a 1-speed automatic transmission, 335 hp and 317 lb-ft of torque. BMW lists its top speed at 118 mph, described as an electronically limited manufacturer figure.
| U.S. i4 eDrive40 measure | Figure | Measurement context |
|---|---|---|
| Power | 335 hp | Current U.S. specification |
| Torque | 317 lb-ft | Current U.S. specification |
| Drive | Rear-wheel drive | Current U.S. specification |
| Transmission | 1-speed automatic | Current U.S. specification |
| 0–60 mph | 5.5 seconds | BMW AG preliminary test result |
| Top speed | 118 mph | Electronically limited |
Source: BMW i4 Gran Coupe: Model overview, features, and specs. The 0–60 mph result is an estimate from BMW AG’s preliminary test; actual performance varies with specification, road, conditions and driving style.
The broader global listing reaches 544 hp, making the model-range maximum substantially different from the U.S. eDrive40’s 335 hp. BMW also identifies the i4 M50 at 400 kW, or 544 hp, showing why range-level figures should not be treated as eDrive40 measurements.
BMW i4 Range and Energy-Consumption Data
BMW’s current WLTP listing gives the i4 a 406–590 km electric-range span and a 15.8–22.5 kWh/100 km combined energy-consumption span. These are laboratory-cycle figures across variants, equipment and configurations; real-world range varies with conditions and equipment.
| WLTP measure | Lower listed value | Higher listed value |
|---|---|---|
| Electric range | 406 km | 590 km |
| Combined energy consumption | 15.8 kWh/100 km | 22.5 kWh/100 km |
Source: BMW i-series. The 590 km figure is the maximum official WLTP value, while 406 km is the minimum in the listed variant range.
For the M50 Gran Coupé specifically, BMW lists 18.0–22.5 kWh/100 km of WLTP energy consumption and 415–520 km of WLTP electric range. BMW separately states that the i4 M50 has a fully electric range of up to 520 km, which is an official stated maximum rather than a guarantee of real-world distance.
The range and efficiency measures should be interpreted together. The broad i4 listing spans different versions, so the lowest consumption figure and highest range figure should not be assumed to belong to every i4, and the M50’s 415–520 km range is its own configuration band.
BMW i4 Charging-Speed and Charging-Time Statistics
The U.S. eDrive40 specification lists 205 kW maximum DC charging power and a 10%–80% DC charging estimate of 30 minutes. BMW also states that a 10-minute high-powered charge can add 88–99 miles of range, depending on the charging setup and conditions.
| Charging measure | BMW U.S. eDrive40 figure | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum DC charging power | 205 kW | Peak input rating |
| DC charge time | 30 minutes | 10%–80%, stated estimate |
| High-powered 10-minute range addition | 88–99 miles | Stated estimate |
| Maximum AC charging power | 11.5 kW | Peak input rating |
| AC charge time | 8 hours 30 minutes | 0%–100%, stated estimate |
Source: BMW i4 Gran Coupe: Model overview, features, and specs. Peak power is not the same as sustained charging power, and charging times depend on the charger, battery state, installation and ambient conditions.
The stated DC window covers 70 percentage points of battery state of charge, from 10% to 80%. The stated AC window covers the full 100 percentage points from 0% to 100%, while the 88–99-mile range-addition band has an 11-mile width derived directly from BMW’s two stated endpoints.
BMW i4 Dimensions, Weight and Packaging Statistics
BMW’s metric global listing gives the i4 dimensions as 4,783 mm long, 1,852 mm wide and 1,448 mm high. The U.S. eDrive40 specification provides the corresponding U.S.-market measurements, plus wheelbase and curb weight.
| U.S. eDrive40 dimension or mass | Figure |
|---|---|
| Length | 188.5 in |
| Width | 72.9 in |
| Width including mirrors | 81.6 in |
| Height | 57.0 in |
| Wheelbase | 112.4 in |
| Curb weight | 4,781 lb |
Source: BMW i4 Gran Coupe: Model overview, features, and specs. Equipment can alter curb weight.
The U.S. wheelbase is also listed as 9.37 feet when expressed through a unit conversion, and the 188.5-inch body length equals 15.71 feet. Those converted values are descriptions of the manufacturer’s inch measurements, not separate measurements.
The metric and U.S. dimension sets describe the same general packaging from different specification pages, but they should not be mixed as though they were independent tests. The U.S. page is specific to the eDrive40, while the global page presents the i4 model listing.
BMW i4 M50 Statistics and Electrification Context
BMW lists the i4 M50 at 400 kW (544 hp) and describes it as using two fifth-generation BMW M eDrive motors. Its current WLTP listing gives the M50 Gran Coupé 415–520 km of electric range and 18.0–22.5 kWh/100 km of energy consumption.
BMW Group’s 2024 report provides useful context but does not disclose a separate i4 unit total in the cited passage. BMW M delivered 206,587 performance and high-performance vehicles globally in 2024, compared with 202,431 in 2023, and BMW says 2024 deliveries were up 2.1%; the all-electric i4 M50 was BMW M’s most sought-after model in 2024, without a disclosed i4 M50 unit volume.
| BMW Group context measure | 2023 | 2024 | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| BMW M deliveries | 202,431 | 206,587 | Global BMW M total |
| BMW brand deliveries | 2,252,793 | 2,200,217 | Global BMW brand total |
| BMW brand BEV deliveries | 330,197 | 368,475 | Global BMW brand total |
| BEV share of BMW brand deliveries | — | 16.7% | 2024 global BMW brand |
Source: BMW Group Report 2024. These are company-wide figures, not i4 sales; BMW’s report identifies the i4 M50’s ranking but does not provide its unit volume in the cited passage.
The wider U.S. market supplies another boundary for interpretation. The EPA reported that BEVs were 7% of all U.S. new vehicles in model year 2024, while the fleetwide average new-vehicle real-world fuel economy was 27.2 mpg.
The EPA also reported that BMW improved manufacturer fuel economy by 2.8 mpg between model years 2019 and 2024. Across U.S. new vehicles, average fuel economy improved in 16 of the 20 years through model year 2024 and was 41% higher in 2024 than in 2004.
Source: Highlights of the Automotive Trends Report. These are U.S. model-year production-volume or fleet measures, not BMW i4 sales or i4 efficiency; EPA final data cover model years 1975–2024, with model year 2025 preliminary.